Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

County sheriff’s race draws slew of candidates

 The Clay County Sheriff’s race appears to be the one to watch this year. With another week to go until the Feb. 28 filing deadline, it has already attracted seven candidates, five of which are running on the Republican ticket. 

Two-term sheriff Vic Davis is not seeking reelection which appears to have opened the gate for his fellow Republicans. Filing for sheriff on the GOP ticket are Bobby Deese, Brandon Coker, Joe Shook, Robert Tison and Sean Crisp. 

Anthony “Tony” Ellis is the lone Democrat to file for sheriff. Steve “Possum” Byers is in the process of petitioning to run unaffiliated in the November general election. 


For the full story and exclusive web content, subscribe today.


By Becky Long Publisher

Clay County Progress

Mailing Address: PO Box 483, Hayesville, NC 28904
Physical Address: 43 Main Street, Hayesville, NC 28904
Phone: 828-389-8431
Fax: 828-389-9997